Columbine High School is a secondary school in unincorporated Jefferson County, Colorado. The school is located at 6201 South Pierce Street, one mile west of the Littleton city limits and half a mile south of the Denver city/county line."Littleton" is indicated in the school's postal address because its ZIP code, 80123, is primarily associated with that city. However, the school is part of the Jefferson County Public Schools district and not the Littleton Public Schools system. The current principal is Dr. Frank DeAngelis.

Columbine High School was the site of the third deadliest school shooting in modern United States history, which took place April 20, 1999.




Evacuations during the massacre
Evacuations during the massacre


Columbine High School opened in the fall of 1973; there was no senior class in its first year. The school's first graduating class was the class of 1975. Columbine was named after the unincorporated community of Columbine, Colorado; where it is located, which in turn is named after the state flower of Colorado: the columbine. Its first principal was Gerald Difford.

School colors

The official school colors are blue and silver. The colors were selected through a vote by students at Ken Caryl Junior High School and Bear Creek High School who would be the first students to attend Columbine High School when the school opened in 1973.

6201 South Pierce Street, Columbine, Colorado
School district Jefferson County Public Schools
Principal Dr. Frank D. DeAngelis
Type Public Secondary
Grades 9 to 12
Mascot Rebels (American Revolution)
Color(s) navy blue and silver           
Established 1973
Superintendent Dr. Cindy Stevenson